Don’t wait to nominate a Queensland Great

      No Comments on Don’t wait to nominate a Queensland Great

Now is the time to recognise the significant contributions made by outstanding individuals and organisations across the State and nominate them for a Queensland Greats award. 

Nominations are open across three categories—individual, institution and posthumous.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk told Parliament the awards would recognise exceptional work which has enhanced the lives of fellow Queenslanders.

“Our Queensland Greats have shown long-term commitment to developing our great State, often demonstrating courage, innovation or resilience,” the Premier said.

“This is an opportunity for Queenslanders to take a moment to look around them and recognise those who have helped to improve their community and make Queensland an even better place to live.”

The 2022 Queensland Greats recipients included cricketer and youth and multicultural advocate Usman Khawaja, burns treatment pioneer Professor Peter Timms, First Nations health and human rights advocate Professor Gracelyn Smallwood AM, and the Queensland Museum Network.

Previous recipients include Bruce Morcombe OAM and Denise Morcombe OAM (2020 recipients), The Honourable Dame Quentin Bryce AD CVO (2016), Dr Dimity Dornan AO (2013) and Kev Carmody (2009).

“I encourage Queenslanders to celebrate the individuals and institutions who have shaped their world, and nominate a Queensland Great today,” the Premier said.

“Since the awards’ inception in 2001, 115 individuals, 18 institutions and eight posthumous recipients have been honoured as Queensland Greats across the fields of business, science, health, education, Indigenous affairs, sport, arts, conservation, community and philanthropy.”

Nominations for the 2023 Queensland Greats Awards close at 5pm, Friday 17 February 2023.

Recipients will be announced in June 2023 and honoured with commemorative plaques displayed at Roma Street Parkland, Brisbane.

For more information about the Queensland Greats Awards and to submit a nomination for the 2023 Awards

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *