Connor Lyons wins 33rd Yaroomba Classic

      No Comments on Connor Lyons wins 33rd Yaroomba Classic
In what was a hotly contested weekend of surfing action the 33rd Yaroomba Classic which was held over the recent long weekend from October 2-4 saw three days of sensational local surfing with 130 competitors showing their surfing prowess with the top win of the day going to Connor Lyons (pictured) from Peregian who took out the Open Men’s and Coolum’s Ellia Smith winning the Open Women’s. Photo: Jeff Perren

This years Yaroomba Classic went down as one of the biggest in the competition’s 33-year history and a sensational wave and weather forecast produced classic conditions for the three days of local surfing over the long weekend.

Over 130 competitors battled out in 15 divisions ranging in age from the ‘Mini Grom 12 and Unders’ to the over 60 ‘Kahunas’.

The Open Men’s Final proved to be one of the most exhilarating contests of the event with Peregian surfer Connor Lyons taking out first place and the $500 prize money. Connor landed one of the best aerial manoeuvres ever seen in the contest’s history and managed to just edge out good mate and fellow Peregian surfer Noah Stocca by 0.10 with excellent heat scores of 16.1 to Noahs’s 16.0.  Local Yaroomba ripper Zane Assink finished in third and 15-year-old Ashton Pignat made the final to finish fourth.

In the Open Women’s division defending champion Coolum’s  Ellia Smith took home the $500 and first place spot with a dominant display producing her critical forehand snaps on several waves to defeat Mudjimba’s Sienna Hanna who came second. The Open Women’s were rounded out with Liana Walsh third and Layne Baldock in fourth place.

Another hotly contested division was the Over 40 Masters, which saw Troy Pellinkhof with his trademark layback snaps take home first place and a brand new Stagg Shot Gun surfboard to boot. 

The rookie of the contest went to young Brisa Canina who also took home a brand new surfboard with her outstanding performances in winning the Under 12 Grom Girls and placing third in the Under 14 Girls division.

The competition paused for an hour on the Monday to farewell one of Coolum Boardriders very own past Junior and Cadet champions Tony “Beaver” Van Haren, with competitors, family and friends sending him off with a paddle out in his honour.

The Coolum Boardriders committee is to be commended for running a sensational contest for the three days and would like to thank all the sponsors and volunteers who helped make it such a great success and look forward to seeing everyone back next year for the 34th Yaroomba Classic.

Ellia Smith from Coolum who won the Open Women’s division at the Yaroomba Classic over the recent long weekend pictured with Club President Chris Barraclough. Photo: Rachael Little

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *